Creator Spotlight: Jack Raines

We connect with creator Jack Raines on his experience shifting careers, his experience on beehiiv and his advice to other writers like him.

This creator spotlight has been reposted from creatorspotlight.com

What is Creator Spotlight?

Each week we'll feature a newsletter on beehiiv that's experiencing tremendous success with its content and growth. It's a two-part initiative packed into a single day:

  1. an email showcasing their content, tips, and goals (this email here)

  2. and a live Twitter Spaces tonight where you can join the conversation and ask questions directly

“I try to write about hard topics that will make readers reflect on their careers and goals. If I can make one person make more intentional career decisions, every word is worth it.”

We connect with creator Jack Raines on his experience shifting careers, his experience on beehiiv, and his advice to other writers like him.

About Young Money

I write two articles a week concerning finances, investing, and careers primarily geared towards young people. Being in your 20s is a weird time where everyone is kind of just figuring everything out. I'm 24 myself, so I figured a lot of people could relate to my thoughts.

I typically write about:

  • Investing or career development including tax benefits

  • Whether you should buy or rent a home

  • How to grow your network

  • Nuanced stories at the intersection of money, opportunity costs, and human behavior

BTW—you can subscribe for yourself here.

What Was Your Experience Starting a Newsletter?

It’s nerve-wracking to publish something online for the first time. You see other blogs you admire and their audiences are so big and you don’t think yours is up to par. You just have to put it out there. It’s hardest when you write something and you don’t hear anything about it.

I’ve had some pieces like that. But that's an important lesson, you start to learn what people respond to. I started on Substack simply because other newsletters I was following were on it.

I didn't really know what it was going to turn into, but writing has since grown into a passion. My audience has grown from 200 readers in July 2021 to 2,700 today, and I think I'm just getting started.

What Is Your Advice on Growing Your Newsletter?

Share everything, every time. You never know when the right person will read a piece and share it. When I had 1200 and 1800 subscribers, I had two pieces hit 25,000 views.

…. Want to read more about Jack Raines and how he grew his newsletter?

Join the conversation

or to participate.